Luca’s Bangkok

The Grand Palace & Temple of the Emerald Buddha

We went to the Grand Palace by boat like this one…

DSC 0032 2 DSC 0035 2

It went very fast and I loved being on it. For the Grand Palace we had to wear long sleeves and long trousers and shoes – it was boiling hot!!!!

When we went in, the whole place was glittering like gold and there were beautiful statues everywhere, and marvellous paintings with golden paint.

P1030905 DSC 0039 2 P1030910 P1030921 DSC 0062 DSC 0063 P1030939 DSC 0121

We still hadn’t got to the Emerald Buddha yet, or the Grand Palace- isn’t it fantastico!

Here it is… DSC 0143

Then it was through a doorway into the Palace grounds where we got a photo with the guard DSC 0158 DSC 0163

There were lots of buildings that were covered in gold and a small museum of guns and swords, and then loads of cannons….

DSC 0179 DSC 0173 DSC 0196 DSC 0201

It was awesome.

Golden Mountain

We took the Canal Taxi to get here, it was like the river boat but went on a narrow bit of water. It went really fast, and really slow in the very narrow bits. Sometimes the water sprayed us as we went along.

DSC 0009 3

We had to climb up lots of steps to get to the top and along the way were lots of bells to ring..

DSC 0031 3 DSC 0035 3 and at the top in the temple we lit incense sticks and said a prayer to Buddha. DSC 0043 2 before we climbed up to the very top where there was a big golden dome and some gongs to beat DSC 0078 2 DSC 0072 2 and then there were more bells and gongs to hit on the way down again DSC 0094 2

We walked to a nearby park, and as we crossed the bridge we spotted something in the canal below…

DSC 0121 2 this is a Monitor Lizard and a picture just for you Ahmed. It was as long as Mateo and me.

On the way back to the hotel we came across a flower market. If I could have bought them, I would have sent them all to you Amber xxx

P1040002 DSC 0149 2 P1040006 DSC 0150 2

Wat Pho and the Reclining Buddha

When we went to Wat Pho, I open my eyes, looked up to the sky and saw the sun shining on all those little fragment of mirrors making it look like gold. P1040052 DSC 0173 2. Along a corridor there was at least 100 golden Buddhas in a row and it was fantastic DSC 0186 2 P1040075.

On the way to the reclining Buddha, we saw young girls dancing. They were beautiful and covered in gold. DSC 0207 2 and here are the one that danced P1040107

The reclining Buddha is an enormous statue, again all covered in gold. I felt amazed by his size and his beauty, his feet were covered with mother of pearls, recollecting his passage through earth before he reached Nirvana.  DSC 0220 2

My stay in Bangkok was awesome. I also have a few more things to say but don’t want to talk about it now.

I missing you all xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  1. #1 by veronika pillet on February 1, 2012 - 6:05 am

    salut little sunshine
    j’aime quand tu ecrit tes sensations et il faut bien le dire, le golden temple est plus que beau, c’est fantastic, magnifique et unforgettable
    mille bisou
    mamika

  2. #2 by Ahmad on February 1, 2012 - 7:05 am

    Hi Luca, I love the picture of the monitor lizard it is brilliant. Thank you for remembering me in Bangkok. Did you know that monitor lizards are related to Komodo Dragons and some even have venom. I think this one might be a Lace Monitor Lizard.

    When I read about Bangkok it said that you can still see these lizards in the wild especially in Lumphini Park. Is that where you were?

    I love all the beautiful and amazing pictures in your blog and I have been trying to follow all your posts.

    Love
    Ahmad

    PS. I went to Libya in the Christmas Holidays and held a huge praying mantis that I found in my cousins garden!

  3. #3 by Scot Peacock on February 1, 2012 - 11:21 am

    Missing you too, dude. I would have loved to bash that gong. What kind of sound did it make? Was it a CLANG, or a BOOOONG, or a WHOOOOSH?

  4. #4 by Pauline on February 1, 2012 - 12:31 pm

    Dearest Luca , You sem to be having a wonderful time and I love seeing your smiley face in the pictures. We miss you too and can’t wait to see you on your return home. Love as ever with hugs and kisses. Nanny and GrampyXXXX

  5. #5 by Amber Hansen on March 8, 2012 - 8:10 pm

    dear luca Im really missing you.I went to denmark in the cristmas hoilday.and I really like the fact that when you write stuff you alway include me it is really nice.and something really nice hapend not very long ago.I went to a family bingo that my mums work orgnised and I won the bigest pice it was £40 and if you dont know what that says it says 40 pound.but I gave £10 to my mum and £10 to grace.I have to go now I need to go to bed bye bye love amber xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • #6 by 5onajourney on April 22, 2012 - 10:18 am

      Dear Amber,
      Sorry for not replying sooner. I am really really sorry and hope you are not too sad. I was really busy in Koh Samui where my Nanny & Grampy came over. It was a big surprise!!
      Mum bought me a ring in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.
      I fly home on 2nd May and I really hope to see you again soon.
      Lots and lots and lots of love
      Luca
      xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

