Malaysia

Hello guys,

Yes it’s me Oskar and I am still alive…just

Half bitten to death by mosquitoes has been a great trip so far.

We have been through Indonesia and it was great, I am sorry I haven’t kept you up to date but here are the best bits throughout Indonesia.

  • Riding on scooters in Lombok was the best way to get around in the whole family’s opinion and sensational because I had a feeling of freedom.

  • Snorkelling with the turtles on Gili T gave me the feeling of being a fish and it was fantastic. It was such an honour to see them every day and being able to touch them very gently as they came up to the surface to breath. I don’t think I’ll ever forget it. Gili T was just perfect…







Luca and I were pirates and there was our friend Ernie the crab (dead).

  • In Yogyakarta on the Island of Java, we stayed in a hotel called Duta which had a swimming pool and hot water. Yes it has been a long time since we had hot water, a luxury in south East Asia. We went     on an adventure on a becak. This man took all 5 of us for around 1.5 km back to our hotel.

One morning we woke up at 4 to go to 2 temples as to avoid the heat of the day. First one was a world famous Buddhist temple called Borobudur. It was so awestrucking I was gobsmacked. It is an enormous temple build around the 9th century. As a mark of respect for the Buddhist religion we walked around the temple 3 times before stepping up. I will let you enjoy some pics.

Then we went to a Hindu temple called Prambanan. This was also awesome but a lot of the little temples were destroyed by the powerful earthquakes happening during the years.

Here are some pictures.

We ate a lot of the time at a Cafe called Via Via in Jogja. The people were great and we had on some days, people who came into the restaurant and played three or four songs each. they were cool  I really liked them.

MALAYSIA

We arrived in Melaka, a little town in Malaysia, in the middle of October. We are taking our time and relaxing here.

We went to a butterfly and reptile park. The butterflies were tremendously beautiful especially when the sun shone on the wings, the effect was superb and the light was dazzling. Two landed on my head, I was very lucky.

We walked pass black scorpions, giant millipedes, tortoises, crocs; colossal fish (don’t know the name), and then a whole collection of snakes. We were very brave and walked into a room with 20 odd snakes (I think they were mangrove cat snakes) all of them wrapped up in trees. It was impressive and also completely crazy.

Then we went to the botanical garden were you had wild monkeys, huge black Malaysian termites (Mateo got bitten) and fire ants. The sound in the forest was freaky and the mosquitoes were everywhere but we were prepared.

That’s it for now and I’ll try not to leave it so late next time.

Feel free to comment

Thanks

Bye from Oskar J

  1. #1 by Sonja Pillet on October 21, 2011 - 9:29 am

    Merci Oskar pour les photos et les info, çà nous fait tres plaisir de d’avoir de tes nouvelles, profite bien de c’est fabuleux voyage.Tu nous manque beaucoup, mais les nouvelles nous font plaisir
    gros bisous de nous; Papi, Sonja Mika et Charlotte

  2. #2 by Paula and Ben on October 21, 2011 - 11:30 am

    Glad you are having a great time! Don’t like the look of those scorpions!
    Keep in touch
    Love Aunty P and Uncle B

  3. #3 by Pauline Smith on October 21, 2011 - 12:24 pm

    Heavens above Oskar What an experience. Too many creepie crawlies for me, but well done all of you. Soooo— good to hear from you. Miss you all loads Lots of love Nanny and Grampyl

  4. #4 by veronika pillet on October 23, 2011 - 7:56 am

    salut mon petit tresor, quel voyage et quelles experiences – ta tete doit etre pleines dímages et dímpressions fantastiques. jéspere que tu arrive a digerer tout cela
    tu me manques beaucoup ainsi que toute la famille – le pire cést de ne pas vous entendre
    je suis a Salzbourg and back to paris on november 10
    but now I have regular acces to internet
    gros gros bisous mamika

  5. #5 by Erin Mcnamee on October 23, 2011 - 5:24 pm

    Hi Oskar,

    Good to hear from you. Nice to see you and the family are enjoying the journey so far, the temples look amazing!

    Happy adventures!

    Erin Mcnamee

  6. #6 by 5onajourney on November 4, 2011 - 10:51 am

    Hi Erin,
    Thanks for that note
    I’m glad to see that one person is looking on my posts
    From my school say hello to everyone including your class
    Everything is good here even if I miss everyone
    Thanks again

    Oskar.

    • #7 by Erin Mcnamee on December 4, 2011 - 7:43 pm

      -Sorry for late reply-

      No problem, and I will do, school’s been so weird without you! Good to see you’ve been having alot of fun so far, and I hope you’ll continue to.

      Erin.

  7. #8 by John Hawkins on November 8, 2011 - 1:59 pm

    Hi Oskar,
    Looks like you are having a brilliant time! I’ve tried Googling ‘5 on a journey’ without any luck, but have just read your Mum’s post card which provided the link. I liked your description of feeling that you were a fish. I always write about my experiences when I’m abroad.The amazing thing is that, in years from now, you will value reading what you wrote even more than looking at the photos again. It’s because writing captures feelings better than a camera!
    I liked ‘awestrucking’ – it’s a made up word but it does the biz.
    Have fun, John Hawkins

Leave a Reply

